Rachel Bilson_pantsuitWhoWhatWear

One of my favourite inspirations – Rachel Bilson is a pint-sized maestro who manages to, in Tim Gunn’s words, make it work. All the time.

 

Here she is, clothed completely in 3.1 Phillip Lim, rocking rose gold lamé in a combination that would be overkill for most of us. I love those harem pants and the way she’s rolled the pantlegs up in lazy irregularity. The roll-ups create lovely creases that instantly bring out the unusual sheen of her matching blazer-short get-up.

She’s a breath of fresh air at any haw-haw highbrow event. I don’t eschew conventional gowns in their jewel-tone splendour, but I am infinitely more drawn to quirk.

I’ve got three pairs of harem pants waiting to be rocked! I’ve worn the black pair twice before , but in the safest of ways – think white slouchy top and tons of chunky accessories. It works, but I’m ready for more. Think I shall try the thrifted sand-hued pair first and then stretch my legs in the lovely khaki pair that my sister got me from London. It even comes with its own cord belt! Yayyers!

