[Image via Park & Cube]

Every once in a while I find inspiration that really hits me in the face (in a good, non-disfigurement sort of way). Shini of Park & Cube was a lightning bolt in the middle of this starless London sky and I am furiously looking through her archives in the way only a semi-deranged or seriously-inspired person would at 4am in the morning.

What really is it about her that would have me recognise her as instant inspiration? Well, it’s many things, really. But most of all, it’s the extremely honest sharing of her individuality that I would raise ten fingers and all my toes up for. To me she wears her heart on her sleeves (bad fashiony pun, but you get me) and just says it like it is.

(And also maybe I love the fact that she unabashedly likes K-Pop and Boys Over Flowers. Yes, people used to laugh at me for my preferences, but lalala whatever!)

Shini answering a question from one of her readers:

Why the name Park & Cube?

This is going to sound corny and cliché, but since you asked… Park is my last name, so that one’s easy – the corny starts at Cube.
I realised how fashion blogs can easily turn into something overly materialistic and shallow in content, so I was quite determined to give this blog some depth. I took the idea of a typical square image, and basically gave it more depth in a physical sense. So a 2D, flat or ‘
shallow’ element gains depth and becomes a 3D cube. That’s where the Cube is from. Don’t get it? Don’t worry, I don’t really get it either.

Here is my secret. It is very simple: it is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.

[Antoine de Saint Exupéry, The Little Prince]

